
State of Delaware  
Tobacco-Free Workplace Policy 

The State of Delaware is dedicated to providing a healthy and productive work 

environment for employees, clients, visitors and contractors.  The goal of the 

Tobacco-Free Workplace Policy is to improve the health of employees and 

Delaware citizens by promoting tobacco use cessation.  Tobacco use remains the 

number one underlying cause of premature death and disability in Delaware and 

the nation. In Delaware, about 1,440 deaths each year result from cigarette 

smoking with more than 480,000 deaths from smoking-related illnesses in the 

United States, according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 

Smoking can cause several types of cancer, heart disease, stroke and lung diseases.  

These diseases are the leading killers in the United States.  Use of smokeless 

tobacco, cigars, pipes and other tobacco products also lead to disease and death.  

On average, loss of productivity due to smoking is $391.2 million a year and direct 

medical expenses due to smoking is a staggering $532.3 million a year in 

Delaware. 

Tobacco- Free Policy 

 

The use of tobacco products is prohibited within the boundaries of all state 

workplaces including all buildings, facilities, indoor and outdoor spaces and the 

surrounding grounds owned by the State.  This policy applies to parking lots, 

walkways, State vehicles and private vehicles parked or operated on State 

workplace property.  This policy does not include public roads or sidewalks.  

For the purposes of this policy, tobacco is defined as any type of tobacco product 

including, but not limited to: cigarettes, cigars, cigarillos, electronic cigarettes, 

pipes, bidis, hookahs, smokeless, spit tobacco or snuff. 

The success of this policy will depend on the courtesy and cooperation of both 

tobacco users and nonusers.  Everyone is responsible for respectfully following 

and helping to enforce the policy.   

 

Violations of this policy may be subject to discipline, up to and including 

dismissal, based on the standards set forth in the Merit Rules, collective bargaining 

agreements, or other applicable laws or policies. 

 

 



Effective Date 

 

The policy required State of Delaware workplaces to be tobacco free by January 1, 

2013. 

 

Tobacco Use Cessation Programs 

 

The State of Delaware is committed to providing support to all employees who 

wish to stop using tobacco products and ensuring to the extent possible that 

employees have access to a variety of resources and assistance.  Employees who 

are enrolled in a State of Delaware Group Health Plan have access to:  Smoking 

Cessation Products (patches, gum and medications) at no cost; 24/7 Nurse Line; 

Health Coaching; and Online Tools and Resources.  For more information, visit the 

Consumerism Resource Link at de.gov/healthconsumer. 

 

Clients, visitors and contractors are encouraged to contact the Delaware Quitline 

for tobacco cessation information at 1-866-409-1858.  Access the Delaware 

Quitline’s online support at Quitsupport.com. 

 

 
Resources for Delaware tobacco use statistics: 
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/index.htm (Retrieved on October 17, 2016) 

The Toll of Tobacco in Delaware - https://www.tobaccofreekids.org/facts_issues/toll_us/delaware (Retrieved on October 17, 2016) 

 
 

 

This policy is not intended to create any individual right or cause of action not already existing and recognized under state or federal law. 
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